Our Kupe Partners

We wish to extend our sincere gratitude to the very generous Sponsors who have made this exciting initiative possible and the inspirational mentors who have agreed to volunteer their time and expertise to support our inaugural Kupe Leadership scholars. 

Founding Sponsor | McCall MacBain Foundation

John McCall MacBain2Canadian philanthropist John McCall MacBain has gifted over $1 million to the University of Auckland to launch the Kupe Leadership Scholarships. This is the latest in the more than NZ$275 million worth of donations made by McCall MacBain's foundation since 2007, which included an unprecedented NZ$150 million gift to Oxford University's Rhodes Scholarships. As a recipient of a Rhodes scholarship himself, John has first-hand experience of how scholarships of this nature can change lives and is passionate about creating similar opportunities for others.  “These scholarships aim to create the next generation of explorers in innovation and discovery for a new future,” he says. “The McCall MacBain Foundation is proud to be a funder of the Kupe Scholarships.” The McCall Macbain Foundation has provided seed funding for the Kupe Leadership Scholarships, which are being supported by a number of other philanthropic donors to the University of Auckland Campaign For All Our Futures, as outlined below.


Sponsors for the 2019 Kupe Leadership Scholarship

McCall MacBain Foundation
Fran & Geoff Ricketts
Hugh Fletcher
Richard Sorrenson and Helen Sword
Ralph and Eve Seelye Trust
Stuart Feigin
Bruce Aitken
September Giving Trust
William Chick Trust
Heartland Bank
Biggar Family


Mentors for the 2019 Kupe Leadership Scholars

Professor Alistair Woodward, Epidemiologist and public health doctor, author for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change; delivered the Redfern Oration 2018.

Andrew Patterson, broadcaster and Business Writer

Dame Anne Salmond, FRSNZ, 2013 New Zealander of the Year, Rutherford Medal winner, anthropologist, environmentalist and author. 

Elisabeth Vaneveld, MNZM, Director of Creative Entrepreneurship, UoA; creative sector strategist,facilitator and organiser

Dr Jenny Harper MNZM, art consultant and former Director of the Christchurch Art Gallery

Jess Hindin, Director of the Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra’s Sistema Aotearoa Trust

Kerry Ann Stanton; Dance Educator and Celebrant 

Minnie Baragwanath MNZM, recipient of a Sir Peter Blake Leadership Award, Founder and CEO of the BeAccessible Trust

Pat Snedden MNZM, Executive Chair of the Manaiakalani Trust

Pauline Winter QSO, former Pacific Business Person of the Year and CEO of the Ministry of Pacific Island Affairs

Philip Coombe, Principal, Huanui College

Pip Cheshire, Gold Medal-winning architect; former President of the NZ Institute of Architects; Distinguished Alumnus of the UoA

Rod Oram, winner of the Qantas Media Awards and the Westpac Business and Financial Journalism Awards (Corporate Social Responsibility, Sustainability and Community Engagement)

Associate Professor Dr Siouxsie Wiles MNZM, microbiologist; winner of the Royal Society‘s Callaghan Medal and the Prime Minister’s Prize for ScienceMedia Communication.